Skip to main content

Timeline & Chat

Community messages, group messages and the chat function.

As an organization admin, you have many possible ways of communicating. In the previous article, we addressed organization messages and organization groups. In this article, we would like to show the other ways to communicate with your colleagues. Check out the tutorial underneath for a short explanation on how this works:

Post on the timeline of a community:

As an organisation admin, you can choose to post a message in a community. This message is visible to all employees in the community. You choose yourself whether to post the message under your own name or in the name of the organisation. You do this using the dropdown menu above the input field. You'll only see this option if you have permission to post organisation messages.

How do I do this on the web version?

Select the community by clicking “Go to community” (top left of the organization dashboard). Now you are in the selected community and see the timeline. Click on “Write a message for your colleagues”. You can now post a message.

How do I do this in the app?

Select the community where you want to post by clicking the “More” tab on the bottom right, then scroll down and click on “Switch community”. Select the community and press “Timeline” on the bottom left. Now you are in the selected community and you can post a message by clicking on “Create a post”.

You can see who has and who has not seen your message by clicking on “Number of times seen” next to the message.

Communication in the community

Group message

A community may contain community groups. You can choose to post only to a group. The message is visible only to the employees who are in the group.

How do I do this on the web version?

Select the community where you want to post by clicking on communities under "Organization management" on the left. Select the community. You are now in the selected community and see their timeline. On the left below the community name, you will see the groups arranged. Click on the desired group and go to 'write a message for your colleagues' to post a message. Here too, you can use the dropdown menu to choose whether to send the message from your personal profile or in the name of the organisation. Note: this is not the same as an organisation message, the message only appears in this group and does not show up in the organisation messages overview.

How do I do this in the app?

Select the community where you want to post by clicking the “More” tab on the bottom right, then scroll down and click on “Switch community”. Select the community and press “Timeline” on the bottom left. Now you are in the selected community and you can post a message by clicking “Create a post” and selecting the group you want to post a message in.

Chat message

You can send chat messages to your colleagues. This can be done in a group chat with multiple colleagues or with an individual. These messages are not visible to an organization administrator. In addition, there is no need for a phone number, as with, for example, WhatsApp, to be able to chat with each other. Chats can be deleted and it is also possible to delete a chat message individually and reply to a chat message (within a chat).

To create a group, click on the pencil icon, and you will see the ‘Create Group’ button next to an overview of all colleagues in your community or from other communities. When you click the ‘Create Group’ button, you first need to select your colleagues you want in the group and click ‘next’. Then you can give the group a name and click on ‘Create’.

Chat functionalities

Besides being able to send text, you can also share images, videos, links, GIFs and documents. Chat also has other options. If you click on the three bullets on the left side of a chat, you have the following options:

  • View the profile of the person you are chatting with

  • Disable notifications from the chat

  • Add to favourites - this will place it in your favourites folder

  • Pin the chat - this will put it at the top of all other chats

  • Mark as unread

  • Archive the chat

  • Delete conversation

Within a chat, you can also add an emoji response to a chat message. You can do this by hovering over the chat message, and a ‘+ emoji’ button will appear. By clicking this, you can make an emoji response. It is also possible to reply to a specific chat message. You do this by standing on the chat message, a drop-down arrow will appear, click on it, and then ‘reply’ will appear.

In case you have made a typo, it is possible to edit the message within 2 hours. You do this by hovering on your chat message, a drop down will appear and clicking on it will give you the options to reply, edit or delete.

All shared media and documents stay easy to find afterwards: open the chat options and choose Review shared media and documents to see everything from that conversation in one overview.

Searching your chats

You can search across all your chats from one place. Click the search bar at the top of your chat overview and a search opens with two tabs:

  • Conversations: find a chat by the name of a colleague or the name of a group chat. Results are ordered by your most recent conversations, and clicking a result opens that chat straight away.

  • Messages: search through the content of all messages in every chat you are part of. Each match appears as a separate result with a preview of the message, and clicking it takes you directly to that message in the conversation.

The search ignores capitals and accents, so searching for "test" also finds "tést".

Do not hesitate to contact our live chat if you have any questions! We are always ready to help you. 👉

Related articles and collections:

Did this answer your question?